Dengue Hotlines:
Chaguanas Hotline: 672-3100 | EWMSC Hotline: 663-3015

North Central Regional Health Authority Overview

The North Central Regional Health Authority (NCHRA) was originally the Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex (EWMSC) Authority (1980). This agency was appointed by the Government of Trinidad and Tobago to over see the administration at the EWMSC which was a government owned private institution as well as other public health facilities. The EWMSC Authority was then expanded in 1994 to become the Central Regional Health Authority (CRHA). This new organization was expanded to include health facilities and centres located in the central area of Trinidad. The CRHA then merged with the former smaller North West Regional Health Authority (NWRHA) to become a larger NWRHA in 1999. In 2004 the government of Trinidad and Tobago divided the NWRHA into two separate organizations the North West Regional Health Authority which is in charge of Port of Spain and environs, and the North Central Regional Health Authority which was established by Act of Parliament No. 5 of 1994 in August 2004. This authority would administer over the EWMSC which was made a public facility on January 1st 2005 as well as some areas formally covered by the NWRHA and the CRHA. The facilities making up the NCRHA are Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex, Mt Hope Women's Hospital, Caura Hospital, Arima Health Facility, Chaguanas Health Facility, and the St George East Health Centre. The first board was established in December of 2004 but management responsibility remained with the North West Regional Health until June 30th 2005. The NCRHA took over managerial responsibility from the NWRHA from July 1st 2005 and the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) was appointed in October of 2005.